Sunny San Diego

Last week I spent several sun-filled days in San Diego with two fabulous ladies I met at Food Blog Camp in Mexico and kept in touch with.  Marie from Meandering Eats hosted myself (me?  myself?  I never know…) and Amber from Awake at the Whisk, who came down from Sacramento.  I ate a lot of food.  I saw my favorite wild animal breeds (giraffes and elephants).  I got to spend a lot of time showering Marie’s dog Bear with belly rubs, despite that fact that Bear delicately helped himself to my dried cherries from the farmers market when nobody was looking.

I left them within reach, so really, I can’t blame him.  Bear’s got taste.

Thanks again Marie for a wonderful visit!  I have now officially been to California.  I got my first sunburn of the season.  I unexpectedly but delightfully got to see one of my oldest friends, Ashley.  I learned that when you see four children under the age of two on your red-eye flight back to Boston, it means you won’t be getting any sleep, so you might as well give up trying and get a second Diet Coke.

Looking forward to visiting Nantucket in a few weeks!

9 thoughts on “Sunny San Diego

    • Aimee says:

      I am a terrible food blogger. 🙂

      The eggs benny dish was from Bluegrass Brunch at Urban Solace in San Diego. It was technically (ahem) “Portabello Benny: House Biscuit, Portobello Mushroom, Poached Fresh Eggs, Smoked Ancho Chili Hollandaise” – and it was sooooo good.

      That is also where the enormous cinnamon roll came from.

  1. P J Davis says:

    The article and pictures were fantasic, the food was overwhelming.
    As a Manier it was a learning experience and I can understand why
    my cousins are love the area.

  2. Fatima says:

    Isn’t San Diego lovely?! I love it sooo much! 🙂 Awesome pics–my favorite is of you in front of the bird!! I agree with Katie that you should tell us all about your dishes, I want to taste them all! 🙂

    • Aimee says:

      Fatima – it’s an accurate representation of a condor wingspan. There weren’t any kids around so I just went for it! 🙂

      The food was so good…I ate like a pig. Cinnamon roll, portabella eggs benny, black bean burger, huitlacoche (corn fungus – yum) quesadilla, huevos con chilaquiles, fresh beet salad, squash blossoms, cactus salad, etc. I am full just thinking about it!

Leave a comment