Biscoff Bars

Biscoff Bars

Biscoff Spread Bars

In my recent Key Lime Pie post, I mentioned that my cousin Jaime opted to use Biscoff cookie crumbs instead of graham cracker crumbs for the crust, which showcased their signature caramel flavor.  I have since realized that not everyone knows what Biscoff cookies are, but they should, because “Europe’s favorite cookie with coffee” is a title worth celebrating!

The name Biscoff comes from a combination of the words “biscuit” and “coffee.”  Known as Speculoos in Belgium, the decorative, crispy cookies have been made by Lotus Bakeries using the same recipe since 1932.  Americans began to notice Biscoff cookies in 1984 when Delta Airlines began serving them on board with coffee, and passengers enjoyed them so much they demanded the cookies be available stateside. 

This past spring, Lotus Bakeries introduced Biscoff Spread.  The spread is a smooth, creamy version of the popular cookie (in fact, 57% of the spread IS Biscoff cookies), and the response has been, well…enthusiastic.  I saw one woman at my local grocery store gathering up four jars at once and scurrying away. 

When I picked up my jar I knew just what I wanted to do with it – make my favorite No-Bake Peanut Butter Bars, but swap out the peanut butter for Biscoff Spread.  I added some white chocolate chips for flavor-balance and texture, and the result was caramel-infused perfection.

Biscoff Spread Bars

Want to try Biscoff Spread for yourself?  Visit here for a $1 off coupon!

Have you tried it?  Do you eat it right out of the jar?  Spread it on apples like my friend Beantown Baker?  Make a Biscoff and Jelly sandwich?  They all sound good to me!

Biscoff Bars

Ingredients
2 cups graham cracker crumbs (2 “sleeves” if you’re crushing your own graham crackers)
2 cups powdered sugar
3/4 cup (1 ½ sticks) butter, softened
1 ½ cups Biscoff Spread
1/2 cup white chocolate chips
1  bag of chocolate chips (milk or semisweet) – you can use less than the whole bag, but it makes for an easy clean up to just use the whole darn thing

  • In a large bowl, combine the Biscoff Spread, graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and butter. 
  • Once combined, press firmly into a 13×9 inch pan and set aside.
  • Scatter white chocolate chips over mixture and press firmly to make the surface even.
  • In a double broiler or in the microwave on low power, melt the chocolate chips.  Once melted and smooth, pour on top of peanut butter mixture and use a spoon or rubber spatula to distribute evenly.
  • Cover and refrigerate 1 hour or until chocolate hardens. Then allow to come back to room temperature, and cut into squares.

Yield:  24 2-inch bars

Print Version

9 thoughts on “Biscoff Bars

  1. Jen @ BeantownBaker.com says:

    These look delicious! I hadn’t even heard of the spread until I opened our goodie bag from TechMUNCH. And yes, it’s delicious on apples. That’s the only thing I’ve done with it. I’m actually somewhat scared to buy a jar. I’m pretty sure I’ll devour the whole thing in no time.

Leave a comment